Skip to main content
Library Life

Business Management & Marketing

Business and Marketing resources at SFC Library

Database

Statistical Abstracts of the United States  
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Examples include national and state statistics on population, income and health issues.

Government Information

Data.gov  
Best single location for most government statistics; it aggregates at the location level, not the spreadsheet level, in most cases.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov, and currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications.

Business Information

International Monetary Fund Data and Statistics
Search data collected by IMF.

New York City and State Information

New York State Labor Statistics
The premier source of labor market information in the state. From wages to projections to the latest job figures, the Department of Labor has the most current and accurate labor market information available.

New York City Neighborhood Data Profiles
Neighborhood data is critical for understanding local housing and demographic trends, identifying community needs, and informing policy conversations..

NYC -- A City of Neighborhoods
Geographically, New York is a city with 5 boroughs, 59 community districts and hundreds of neighborhoods. In 2014, the Department of City Planning issued a revised wall map displaying the neighborhood names and community district boundaries along with informative statistics on the geographic, demographic and economic profile of New York City.

United States Information

American FactFinder
A portal for population, housing, economic and geographic data collected by the Census Bureau.

BEA Regional Economic Accounts 
Bureau of Economic Analysis links to state and metro area data

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provide state, regional and national data on labor forces. Also provide some international data.

The Place Database
The Place Database is a map of the United States which uses the PolicyMap platform to visualize the latest available data for dozens of indicators—ranging from housing affordability, to brownfield sites, to federal government spending. Many datasets include several years worth of data, so you can see how things have changed over time. You can zoom out to see certain data at the state level, or zoom in to see data as close as the block group. Datasets in the tool come from a variety of resources, such as the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Census Bureau, the Internal Revenue Service, and the National Conservation Easement Database. The tool also includes zoning maps for 105 cities, and detailed fiscal information about the 150 cities in the Fiscally Standardized Cities database (FISC). 

StateMaster* 
Aggregates information for all 50 states

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Provide census-like data by state or city.

World Statistics and Data

Election Statistics
In this space you will find links to Internet sites around the world which provide complete and detailed national and local election statistics, as well as other election resources.

Europa: Eurostat
Your key to European statistics.

NationMaster* 
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.

UNdata
Created United Nations Statistics Division. A search engine for statistics compiled by United Nations. Provide quick links to different countries' government agencies that collect and disseminate data and statistics.

World Factbook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, and so on.