Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Exercise and Movement Science

Research Databases

What is a database? A collection of articles found in journals and newspapers. Some also include videos, ebooks and images.

Why use databases and not websites? Many websites are created or sponsored by companies with the intent to sell products or services.  Their information may be inaccurate or biased.

Note: If you are looking for a particular journal, go to Journals page.

Here is a list of recommended databases. Access requires a valid St. Francis College login.

  • General Science Full Text (Ebsco)
    Full-text access to more than 100 periodicals covering astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics and zoology dating back to 1995.
  • Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine 
    Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
  • PubMed 
    PubMed is a free database accessing the MEDLINE database of citations, abstracts and some full text articles on life sciences and biomedical topics. Maintained by the United States National Library of Medicine.
  • ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
    Full-text access to over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, life sciences, and health sciences.
  • Natural Medicines (TRC)
    An authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
  • ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (Ebsco)
    Full-text access to more than 323,000 full-text educational articles dating back to 1966.
  • PsycARTICLES (American Psychological Association)
    Full-text access to over 80 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Psychology Database (ProQuest)  
    This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 550 titles available in full text. Coverage includes social psychology.
  • ProQuest
    Article abstracts and full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and major English language newspapers. Covers a wide range of scholarly topics.
  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)​
    A multi-disciplinary database with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega (Ebsco)
    A multidisciplinary database. Full-text access to 2,100 journals, many are peer-reviewed.

Here are videos on how to use Ebsco and ProQuest.

Articles from the Internet

Here are two additional sources (from the Internet) to help you find articles.

Here is a video on how to use Google Scholar. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hi6KcTxJJ2g

Research Tip

Successful information research requires you to know how to phrase your topic to match those of the research system so that the system can find relevant results. This is where keywords come in handy. The Oxford English Dictionary defines keyword as "a word (usually one of several) chosen to indicate or represent the content of a larger document, text, record, etc., in an index, catalog, or database." 

How to find keywords? Start your search with two or three most significant words that describe your topic. Check out a few results that seem relevant. Look at the "Subjects" terms in these results. Now use these terms to search. Another method is use the database's thesaurus. Not all databases have one and sometimes you click a link or a tab to find it. For example, a database called ProQuest has it in the "Advanced Search" page.

Here is a keyword generator to help you create keywords.  https://utdirect.utexas.edu/apps/libraries/key/nlogon/

Example of keyword vs. subject term:  human body vs. human anatomy

What're Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly, peer-reviewed, or refereed articles are written by scholars or experts in a particular discipline. The authors' peers review the article before it gets published in a journal (see definition below.) This process adds more credibility and accuracy to the claims in the article.

There are a dozen ways to distinguish scholarly journals from other types of periodicals

Three key specifications are: Who wrote it? What is the article’s structure? Is there a list of works cited?

And here is a 3-question test to help you. Is this Article Scholarly?

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, journals are "any periodical publication containing news or dealing with matters of current interest in any particular sphere."

What's an Abstract of an Article?

An abstract of an article is a summary of the article. Sometimes you may only see an abstract and not the actual article, which is called full-text.

Why? Some databases does not offer full-text.

What can you do? First, try to search for the article in our catalog. Use the full title of the article to search. This allows you to search all of our databases. Still could not find it. Request us to get the article from another library through a service called interlibrary loan (ILL).