Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
Dismiss × FALL '21 UPDATE: The library will reopen for all SFC students, faculty and staff for the Fall semester.   See full details
library chat icon

Brooklyn History

This is a guide to primary and secondary resources on local Brooklyn history.

Databases, Jounals and Articles

DatabasesSome of the databases that the library subscribes to contain historical newspaper collections; a great way to find primary resources on Brooklyn.

Also listed are several databases which contain history journals.

ProquestProquest

  • contains full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to the present
  • also contains full-text access to hundreds of local and national historical newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Boston Globe
  • also contains full-text access to scholarly history journals

EBSCOhost

  • contains full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers
  • contains full-text access for thousands of history journals

JSTORJSTOR

  • Full-text articles from 2,000 scholarly journals, books and primary resources spanning the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences.

Project MUSEProject MUSE

  • Full-text to 600+ scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

ILL Articles

If you can't find an article you need in our database or journal collection we can request a copy from another library.  Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form below.