Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Disability Studies

Streaming Video Collections

Academic Video Online 

This streaming video collection has thousands of full-length documentaries. Almost all the videos are fully transcribed.

Films on Demand: Feature Films 

This collection includes more than 600 films focusing on both current and hard-to-find commercial titles. It includes Hollywood blockbusters, literary adaptations, Academy Award winners, animated feature films and more.

Films on Demand: World Cinema Collection 

Shining a light on the history of cinema, this collection of more than 1,000 films covers the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors and contemporary films from around the world.

Kanopy

This streaming video collection offers unique and compelling documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. 

 

Recommended Documentaries

 

Best Boy (1979)

https://sfc.kanopy.com/video/best-boy

Best Man (1998)

https://sfc.kanopy.com/video/best-man

Reiss, Frances (Actor), Wohl, Max (Actor), Ira Wohl (Director)

The director filmed his mentally handicapped male cousin, who lives in Queens, NY.  During the first film Philly Wohl was 52 years old and living with his elderly parents. Ira makes his aunt and uncle realize that they will be able to take care of Philly forever. Philly begins to take classes to learn how to take care of himself. Twenty years late, Ira contacted Philly again. He lives in a home with other like him. Ira invites him to Los Angeles and prepares him for his bar mitzvah. 

 

Emmanuel's Gift

https://sfc.kanopy.com/video/emmanuels-gift

Robin Williams (Actor), Oprah Winfrey (Actor), Lisa Lax (Director, Producer, Writer), Nancy Stern (Director, Producer, Writer)

This documentary follows Emmanuel Yeboah's journey to change the political and societal treatment of disabled people in his home country of Ghana. Emmanuel was born with a deformed right leg and witnessed firsthand how disabled people are treated.

 

Defiant Lives: The Rise Of The Disability Rights Movement​

https://sfc.kanopy.com/video/defiant-lives

Sarah Barton (Director)

This is an historical documentary about the origins of the Disability Rights Movement. "It tells the stories of the individuals who bravely put their lives on the line to create a better world where everyone is valued and can participate."