How to Search for Articles
Databases
The Library subscribes to a variety of databases that cover a multitude of topics. The purpose of this section is to provide a list of databases that would be useful for studying Latin American history.
- Academic Search Complete
Offers scholarly peer-reviewed full-text journals for STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Nearly 6,550 active full-text periodicals including 5,890 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. - EBSCOhost Web
A family of databases with articles in all major subject areas. - JSTOR
Full-text articles from 2,000 scholarly journals, books and primary resources spanning the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences. - ProQuest
Proquest includes 16 individual databases with articles on all major subjects.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of cultural heritage items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. All of the materials found through DPLA are free and immediately available in digital format.
- ARTstor
A database of more than two million art images from museum collections. Includes photographs, costumes, illustrations, illuminated manuscripts, monuments and sculpture.
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference
A reliable scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Credo Reference contains encyclopedias, subject-specific dictionaries, atlases and handbooks - Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Another scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Definitions and explanations from over 175 general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks.
Streaming Video
The library has a subscription to a film database called: Infobase: World Cinema. For more information, take a look at the Video Streaming Libguide.
In the database, you have the option of limiting the results to feature a selection of Latin American films.
