Databases and Journals
The Library subscribes to a variety of databases and academic journals that covers multitude of topics. The purpose of this section is to provide a list of databases and journals that would be useful for studying Walt Whitman and his works.
Getting Started
- Academic Search Complete
Offers scholarly peer-reviewed full-text journals for STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Nearly 6,550 active full-text periodicals including 5,890 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. - JSTOR
Full-text articles from 2,000 scholarly journals, books and primary resources spanning the arts, humanities, general science and social sciences. - Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full-text to 600 scholarly journals and 550 books covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Literature Specific
- ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources.
Reference
- Credo Reference
A reliable scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Credo Reference contains encyclopedias, subject-specific dictionaries, atlases and handbooks - Oxford Reference Online: Premium
A scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Definitions and explanations from over 175 general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks.
