Skip to Main Content

U.S Government

On the Federal and State level


The Federal Government is comprised of three branches: Executive, Judicial, and Legislative. The U.S. Constitution has previously established that these branches will follow a system of checks and balances. Within this system; each branch has its own power and control however each branch must also rely on the other branches to function effectively. This system is in place to prevent each branch from being more powerful than the others.

Reference Books

The Branches

The Executive Branch of government is responsible for carrying out and enforcing the law. The president of the United States is at the head of this branch. The president also acts as head of state and Commander in chief of the military. The executive branch also includes the president's cabinet.
The Legislative Branch is tasked with creating and enacting laws. This branch also has the power to accept or deny presidential nominations for heads of federal agencies, federal judges, and the Supreme Court, and has the ability to declare war. Congress, the Senate, and the House of Representatives compromise this branch as well as offices and agencies that provide support for Congress.
The Judicial branch consists of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. The responsibilities of this branch include the interpretation and review of the law. The Supreme Court is the highest court of the land and includes 9 Justices.
These justices are judges who review the law and decide whether or not it goes against the Constitution. They also only hear cases that involve issues in relation to the Constitution.

The President's Cabinet

The President's Cabinet consists of the Vice President, the Secretaries of executive departments such as Defense, Commerce, Transportation and Treasury; to name a few. The cabinet also includes the Chief of Staff.