Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Film Studies

The following academic databases are the best bets for finding film-related resources.

To search all our databases at once you can always use our library search.

For more information on how to search library databases check out our handy tutorial, Introduction to Library Research.

Electronic Reference Databases

When conducting online research, these electronic reference databases are excellent and reliable scholarly alternatives to Wikipedia.

Video Streaming

Video Streaming Banner

Streaming Video Databases

Academic Video Online

  • A streaming video database that contains thousands of titles. A great source for documentaries and rare news reel footage.

Kanopy 

  • An on-demand streaming video platform with a large collection of over 30,000 award-winning feature films, documentaries and educational videos. This diverse collection of films covers a variety of subjects. You can browse the subject list here.

Academic Databases

Academic Search CompleteFilm & TV Literature Index with Full Text

  • Full-text articles from over 120 journals and 100 books on film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, and cinematography. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.

 

JSTORJSTOR

  • art, history, literature, general and social science
  • 2,000 full-text scholarly journals

 

 

Project MUSEProject MUSE

  • literature and criticism, political science, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, and gender studies
  • 600 full-text scholarly journals

 

ProQuest Arts and HumanitiesProQuest Arts and Humanities

  • art, archaeology, architecture, history, music, theatre and film
  • 500 full-text scholarly journals