Which Database To Use?
The SFC Library subscribes to a range of databases that provide access to articles from scholarly journals. Some databases are organized by subject area (ie. Criminal Justice) while some are multidisciplinary and cover all subject areas. Check out our recommended databases below or visit our Database A-Z page for a full list of databases...
NOTE: You should always search multiple databases to make sure you're not overlooking any important resources for your paper!!
These are the recommended SFC Library databases for researching Criminal Justice topics.
This introduction from Nexis Uni goes over the basics of searching on the database (starting from the Home Page).
For more in-depth videos and information about using Nexis Uni, check out their comprehensive Help Center.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Criminal Justice Abstracts With Full Text
Full-text articles from over 270 magazines and journals on criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Criminology and Criminal Justice (Oxford Research Encyclopedia)
In-depth, peer-reviewed long-form articles on foundational and contemporary topics in Criminology and Criminal Justice.
You should also be able to find some Criminal Justice-related articles in our larger multidisciplinary databases. Check out these databases...
Scholarly peer-reviewed full-text journals for STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Nearly 6,550 active full-text periodicals including 5,890 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest includes 16 individual databases with articles on all major subjects.