Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Biology

Biology Databases

Computer

The following library databases are the best bets for finding biology-related resources.

To search all our databases at once you can always use our all-in-one library search.

If you want to know which database contains a specific journal, search our Journals A-Z List.

For more information on how to search library databases check out our handy tutorial, Introduction to Library Research.


 

CINAHLCINAHL

  • allied health and nursing
  • 2,928 full-text scholarly journals
  • coverage from1981

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete

  • science
  • 5,890 full-text scholarly journals

 

Proquest Biology Database

Proquest Biology Database

  • biology
  • 325 full-text scholarly journals
  • coverage from 1998
  • titles include: Systematic Biology, Critical Reviews in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Plant Cell, Bioscience

Science DirectScience Direct

  • science, technology and health
  • 3,800 full-text journals
  • 35,000 books
  • coverage from 1823
  • titles include: The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron

PubMed

PubMed 

  • life sciences & biomedical
  • maintained by the United States National Library of Medicine
  • includes access to MEDLINE database of citations & abstracts
  • 27 million citations for biomedical literature 

General Science DatabaseGeneral Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) 

  • astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics and zoology
  • 100 full-text journals
  • coverage back to 1995

Gale Expanded Academic ASAPGale Expanded Academic ASAP

  • social science, humanities, science and technology and national and global news sources
  • 3,000 full-text journals 
  • coverage from 1980 to the present

Biology Journals

JournalsThe library also subscribes to several biology journals in print.  These can be found in the periodicals section on the cellar level.

To see the complete list of Journals, both print and electronic, check our Journals A-Z list.

ILL Articles

If you can't find an article you need in our database or journal collection we can request a copy from another library.  Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form below.