Databases
The library subscribes to a variety of databases that cover a multitude of topics. The purpose of this section is to provide a list of databases that can be helpful when researching American history.
Searching for Articles: Video Tutorial
Video instruction by Librarian, Letitia Samuel Hazell
General Research
- EBSCOhost Web
A family of databases with articles in all major subject areas. - Gale Databases
Access to all 38 Gale databases including New York Newspapers and Academic OneFile. - ProQuest Central Essentials
ProQuest Central Essentials provides access to databases across all major subject areas. One of the most comprehensive multidisciplinary research databases available.
Historical Databases
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersLibrary of Congress database providing free and open access to millions of pages from historic American public domain newspapers (1789-1963). More than 3000 newspaper titles, published in 40 states are available to search.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2020)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from 1851-2020.
Reference
- Credo Reference
A reliable scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Credo Reference contains encyclopedias, subject-specific dictionaries, atlases and handbooks - Oxford Reference Online: Premium
A scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Definitions and explanations from over 175 general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. - Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Examples include national and state statistics on population, income and health issues. Covers publications between 2013-2020. - Statistical Abstracts of the United States (1878-2012)Find historic statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. These publications from the U.S. Census Bureau cover 1878-2012 (for more recent statistics use the ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States database).
