Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Mathematics

Book with One Author

Book With One Author

Capitalize:

  • Proper nouns (e.g. Napoleon, Jamaica, Saint Francis College)
  • Only the first letter of the title and subtitle. (e.g. The sports encyclopedia: Baseball)
  • Remember to italicize the book title.

Basic Format: 

Last Name, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of book: Capitalize first letter of subtitle. Publisher.

If you are having trouble finding the publisher, check the inside front page.

Brokaw, T. (1998). The greatest generation. Random House.

Book with Multiple Authors

Multiple Authors

For 2-20 authors use a comma between each name and an ampersand (&) in front of the last author:

Alden, J. R., & Higgins, W. R. (1979). The revolutionary war in the South. Power, conflict, and leadership. Duke University Press.

Neft, D.S., Cohen, R. M., & Neft, M. L. (2004). The sports encyclopedia: Baseball (24th ed.). St. Martin's Griffin.

For more than 20 authors use an ellipses between the nineteenth author and last author.  

Book by a Group or Organization (Corporate Author)

Corporate Author

A corporate author can mean any group that does not identify an individual person as the author. This can include a commission, a committee, an organization or a government agency.  The corporate author's name goes where the author's name goes.

 

United Nations Human Settlements Programme. (2007). Enhancing urban safety and security: Global report on human settlements 2007. Earthscan.

Book with No Author

No AuthorIf there is no author just begin with the title.  When you are alphabetizing your works cited page, treat the first word of the title as if it were an author's last name.  For example, the book below would appear between L and N.

Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (10th ed.).(1993). Merriam-Webster.

An Edition of a Book (Textbook)

TextbookCite the way you would any book but add the edition number after the title.

Robbins, S.P., DeCenzo, D. A., & Coulter, M.K. (2015). Fundamentals of management: Essential concepts and applications (9th ed.). Pearson.

An Anthology or Collection

AnthologyIf you are citing one essay/chapter of the anthology use the following form:

Last name, First name. (Year of Publication). Title of Essay. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of collection (Page range of entry). Publisher.

Poe, Edgar Allen. (1998). Fall of the House of Usher. In William L. Andrews (Ed.), The Literature of the American South: A Norton Anthology (pp. 103-116). W.W. Norton.

If you are citing the entire anthology here is an example:

Andrews, W. L. (Ed.). (1998). The literature of the American South: A Norton anthology. W.W. Norton.

eBook

eBookeBooks are cited simliar to print books. It is not necessary to include the ebook format. If the book has a DOI or non-database URL this should be included too.

Example from an academic database:

Winters, A. (2014). The displaced of capital. University of Chicago Press.

Example with DOI or non-database URL:

Brown, L.S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000