Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Educational Technology

Research Databases

What is a database? A collection of articles found in journals and newspapers. Some also include videos, ebooks and images.

Why use databases and not websites? Many websites are created or sponsored by companies with the intent to sell products or services.  Their information may be inaccurate or biased.

Here is a list of databases that have the most relevant sources in the field of educational technology and education in general. Try the first three before using the multi-disciplinary ones. 

If you are looking for a particular journal, go to Journals page.

Please note: Off-site access to these databases requires a valid St. Francis College login.

  • Education Full Text (Ebsco)
    A complete source of education scholarship. The database encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks.
  • Education Database (ProQuest)
    This database includes over 770 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
  • Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) (Ebsco)
    This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
    A multi-disciplinary database with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals. More than 5,100 are peer-reviewed journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It also features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega (Ebsco)
    A multidisciplinary database. Full-text access to 2,100 journals, many are peer-reviewed.
  • Project Muse   
    Full-text, peer-reviewed articles to a comprehensive selection of humanities and social science journals.
  • ProQuest
    Article abstracts and full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and major English language newspapers. Covers a wide range of scholarly topics.
  • Psychology Database (ProQuest)
    This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 550 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (Ebsco)
    This multi-disciplinary database includes over 540 titles, with more than 310 available in full text.
  • Social Science Database (ProQuest)
    This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text.
Here are videos on how to search for articles in Ebsco and ProQuest.

Journals (not from SFCL)

Although this guide is about the resources from our Library, these three resources from the Internet are very useful if you do not find articles using ours. 

Search Tip

Successful information research requires you to know how to phrase your topic to match those of the research system so that the system can find relevant results. This is where keywords come in handy. The Oxford English Dictionary defines keyword as "a word (usually one of several) chosen to indicate or represent the content of a larger document, text, record, etc., in an index, catalog, or database." 

How to find keywords? Start your search with two or three most significant words that describe your topic. Check out a few results that seem relevant. Look at the "Subjects" terms in these results. Now use these terms to search. Another method is use the database's thesaurus. Not all databases have one and sometimes you click a link or a tab to find it. For example, a database called ProQuest has it in the "Advanced Search" page.

Here is a keyword generator to help you create keywords.  https://apps.lib.utexas.edu/apps/libraries/key/nlogon/

Some terms that you can use.

  • Educational Technology
  • Computer Assisted Instruction
  • Technology Uses In Education
  • Distance education
  • Computers and Education 
  • Educational innovations
  • Internet in Education
  • Web-Based Instruction
  • Virtual Learning
  • E-learning

What're Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly, peer-reviewed, or refereed articles are written by scholars or experts in a particular discipline. The authors' peers review the article before it gets published in a journal (see definition below.) This process adds more credibility and accuracy to the claims in the article.

There are a dozen ways to distinguish scholarly journals from other types of periodicals

Three key specifications are: Who wrote it? What is the article’s structure? Is there a list of works cited?

And here is a 3-question test to help you. Is this Article Scholarly?

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, journals are "any periodical publication containing news or dealing with matters of current interest in any particular sphere."

What's an Abstract of an Article?

An abstract of an article summarizes the article. Sometimes you may only see an abstract and not the full-text of the article. The reason is our subscriptions do not have full-text access to every result in a particular database. If you search our catalog and find only an abstract, you can request the article through our interlibrary loan service. And if you search a database and find only an abstract, try to search for the article with its full title in our catalog. This allows you to search all of our databases for it.