Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Life
library chat icon

Entrepreneurship

Business & Entrepreneurship Databases

If you are search for articles from trade publications, business magazines, or newspapers on entrepreneurship or business related topics, you can use the library search.

On the other hand, a lot of the business information that you can find using the library's databases, such as company records, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and media spend information, will not appear when you are using the library search. In order to find this information, you will need to search the appropriate database.

Below is a list of the library's databases that have useful information for business research and entrepreneurship as well as descriptions on the type of information that you will find in each database.

If you are looking for a particular trade journal or a particular business newspaper, such as WWD (formerly Women's Wear Daily) or the Wall Street Journal, you can use the Journals page to find which database has this periodical or journal.

 

ABI/INFORM Collection

  • Full-text articles from thousands of trade journals, magazines, business magazines, and business newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal 
  • Full-text industry reports and market analyses from companies such as Euromonitor and Business Monitor International
  • Access to additional sources such as Conference Papers and Wire Feeds

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)biography reference

  • Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index
  • Source types include biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries
  • It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images

 

Business Insights: EssentialsBusiness Insights: Essentials

  • Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports.
  • Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection.
  • Deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.

 

Business Source Premier

  • Full-text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains PDF scans, including images, of select trade journals such as WWD
  • Full-Text industry reports for a variety of industries as well as SWOT analyses from major companies from sources such as Marketline
  • Full-text for thousands of Case Studies and Scholarly Business Journals

 

Hoover'shoovers

  • Detailed company records including company descriptions, financials or estimated earnings, lists of competitors, and links to recent company news
  • Detailed Industry reports from First Research that include forecasts, pertinent industry links, industry descriptions, and business challenges
  • Includes biographical and salary information for key business executives

 

Nexis Uni™Nexis Uni

  • Full-text print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, and local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
  • Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
  • Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives

 

Winmo (formerly REDBOOKS)

  • Detailed advertising information on companies and brands. 
  • Detailed information about major advertising agencies such as their client lists, contact lists, recent executive changes, and other news
  • Also includes lists of job opportunities as well as lists of clients that are changing hands or looking for new agencies

 

Regional Business NewsRegional Business News

  • Full text coverage for more than 100 regional business publications
  • Coverage dates back to 1990
  • Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions) are included in this database

Statistical Abstract of the United Statesstatistical abstract

  • ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States
  • This includes data on business finances and operations and minority-owned firms
  • This also includes data on specific industries such as accommodation and food services from sources such as the National Restaurant Association

 

Vault Career Resourcevault

  • The Vault Collection includes 180 career books as well as resources on various industries, companies and professions
  • The industry portion contains industry outlook information and links to industry associations for a variety of industries
  • The company listings give good overviews of the company and its operations as well as employee reviews