NYC Entrepreneurship Resources
NYC Business is New York City's one stop shop for information regarding starting, running, or growing a business in New York City. Examples of the information that you can find on NYC Business are:
- NYC Business has created a wizard called "Step by Step" that will tell you all of the licenses and permits that your business will need from the City, State, and Federal government as well as additional information in regards to navigating government.
- NYC Business also offers free, full-length business courses called FastTrac. FastTrac NewVenture courses are designed to help aspiring entrepreneurs succeed, and the FastTrac GrowthVenture courses are designed to help small business owners scale up and improve their current operation. These course run continuously throughout the year in all five boroughs.
Brooklyn Public Library's Business & Career Center
The Business & Career Center at Brooklyn Public Library has a variety of resources and services designed to help entrepreneurs and small business owners. Examples of these resources and services are:
- Up to date "Subject Guides" on important business topics, such as ideation and business planning and on how to research your customer, with links to relevant databases, books, and free websites.
- An annual business plan competition called PowerUP! that provides aspiring entrepreneurs in Brooklyn with access to mentorship, classes, and a chance to win start up capital and other prizes.
©2016 NYC Economic Development Corporation. All rights reserved.
WE NYC (Women Entrepreneurs NYC) is an initiative based out of the New York City Department of Small Business Services that is dedicated to helping women start and grow their businesses. WE NYC has programs and services specifically for female entrepreneurs, but they also have useful resources for all entrepreneurs such as:
- A Local Resource Directory that allows you to search for entrepreneur and small business services, such as legal assistance, mentoring, and workshops, by borough
- WE NYC also worked with Babson's Executive Education program to create a Funding Planning Tool to help entrepreneurs and business owners learn about various funding sources, evaluate whether they are ready for outside funding, and determine which source of funding is right for their business.
Industry Research
-
U.S. Census Bureau - Business BuilderThe Census Business Builder is a suite of services that provides selected data at the county and city level tailored to people looking to start a small business; includes socioeconomic and demographic data, key industry statistics, and even consumer spending data!
-
U.S. Census Bureau - Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. Industry reports are available at the national and state levels; survey includes large, medium and small companies representing all U.S. locations and industries.
-
U.S. Census Bureau - County Business PatternsCBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
-
Valuation Resources - Industry InformationA portal linking to individual industry guides that provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Guides often include list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources addressing subjects such as industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial information and financial ratios, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.
Note: Be aware, industry guides linked to are not always free for full use of the resource. -
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industries at a GlanceA brief overview of the industry, workforce and earnings statistics, industry-specific pricing information and workplace trends.