★ Spotlight Resource ★
Open RN Collection of OER Nursing textbooks and associated VR scenarios funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education. Textbooks based on the State Nursing curriculum established by the Wisconsin Technical College System, and include: Pharmacology, Nursing Skills, Nursing Fundamentals, and more!
Open Stax: Nursing Collection Collection of eight Open Nursing Textbooks from Open Stax (an initiative of Rice University). Easy to use and adopt, the resources include full textbooks as well as ancillary resources (lecture slides, test banks and more). Titles include:
Nursing Textbooks
Health Case Studies Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings.
Nursing Pharmacology Designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes.
Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text.
Case Studies and Simulations
EM Sim Cases Freely available, peer-reviewed simulation cases for Emergency Medicine programs.
Massachusetts Nursing Initiative - Simulation Scenario Library Scenarios available for download on this site were developed by academic/practice partnerships with grant funding provided by the Nursing Initiative. The scenarios on this site are available for download to registered users at no cost.
Nursing Simulation Scenario Library (Montgomery College) A collection of video simulations and accompanying documents for use by nursing educators.
SAGE Open Medical Case Reports A publication home for short case reports which often do not find a place in traditional primary research journals, but provide key insights into real medical cases that are essential for physicians, and may ultimately help to improve patient outcomes.
Nursing Resources
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
Open Educational Resources for Nursing Education GW School of Nursing provides grant-funded OER interactive, online learning materials.
WISC-ONLINE A collection of interactive, learning tools for nursing.
MedEdPORTAL Publications promoting educational scholarship and collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.