Web Resources
★ Spotlight Resource ★
Writing Spaces Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each of the four volumes in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students.
Style for Students Online Whether planning a paper, running a grammar check, completing a report, composing an email, or writing a resume, you are bound to find the material and examples you need in Style for Students Online.
American English A resource center for teaching and learning about American English language and culture. Unless a copyright is indicated, information is in the public domain
Writing Commons Writing Commons is an online, collaborative encyclopedia with over 800 articles on writing, editing, publication, and more!
College Writing Textbooks
Bad Ideas About Writing Bad Ideas About Writing counters major myths about writing instruction. The collection of essays are intended to spark debate and to offer a better way of teaching writing.
Writing for Success Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
You, Writing! A Guide to College Composition This text is meant to be used in any first year College Composition class or as a general guide to college writing. The goal is to help students discover their own writing process and what works best for them.
Composing Ourselves and Our World This textbook is meant for first year English Composition Courses. The text covers the essentials of composition and rhetoric in a recursive manner and introduces research skills.
Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication This text outlines the various writing styles appropriate for analyzing, addressing, and critiquing these genres including poetry, novels, dramas, and research writing.
A Short Handbook for writing essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences This text presents a simple, easy to follow guide for students to use when organizing, planning, researching, and writing an essay. In addition to essay structure, it also provides help with the “basics of effective writing.”
Contribute a Verse: An Introduction to First Year Composition This peer-reviewed textbook, published by the University of North Georgia Press, combines a composition rhetoric manual with grammar and documentation instruction and resources.
Writing In College: From Competence to Excellence This text is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes.
Oregon Writes: Open Writing Text This textbook guides students through the writing process, researching, citing, rhetorical modes, and critical reading. Previously published articles, essays, and chapters are compiled into one textbook.
A Guide to Rhetoric, Genre, and Success in First-Year Writing The goal of this text is to function more like a manual to rhetorical concepts and writing genres, to college composition, and to helping students succeed in first year writing courses rather than a formal textbook.
Information Literacy
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly.
Choosing and Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research With this free-of-cost guide, students are better equipped to tackle the challenges of developing research questions, evaluating and choosing the right sources, searching for information, avoiding plagiarism, and much more!
Copy(write): Intellectual Property in the Writing Classroom This text brings together stories, theories, and research that can further inform the ways in which we situate and address intellectual property issues in our writing classrooms.