Collections
★ Spotlight Resource ★
Open Geography Education From the Smithsonian Institution, this online archive includes the papers of artists, dealers, critics and curators. It comprises thousands of letters, photographs, diaries, sketches, writings, and other documents.
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit Explore case studies to see how people are building resilience for their businesses and in their communities. Includes information from across the US federal government in one easy-to-use location.
Earth and Mineral Sciences - Open Courses A collection of OER courseware (lectures, slides, syllabi, and modules) free to access from Pennsylvania State University's department of Earth and Mineral Sciences.
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Introduction to Environmental Science This course uses the basic principles of biology and earth science as a context for understanding environmental policies and resource management practices.
Environmental Biology This college-level open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from a biological perspective.
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation The content is intended to be useful for both a broad-based introductory class on sustainability and as a supplement to specialist courses which wish to review the sustainability dimensions of their subjects.
American Environmental History A comprehensive survey of American Environmental History covering the exodus and evolution of homo sapiens to food production and transportation in modern day.
Environmental ScienceBites / Environmental ScienceBites vol. 2 Written by students at Ohio State University, the text covers major environmental challenges and the way humans are using innovative science and engineering to provide sustainable solutions to these problems.
Environmental Issues This first-year undergraduate open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from both biological and social science perspectives.
Introduction to Climate Science This book describes how Earth's climate is changing, how it has been changing in the recent geological past and how it may change in the future.
Geology
Physical Geology (2nd ed.) A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, climate change, and much more!
Geological Structures: A Practical Introduction This manual consists of both readings and lab exercises on structural geography, which alternate through the text.
Introduction to Petrology Learn about igneous and metamorphic rocks (and how to analyze them) by conducting inquiries guided with examples based on videos and interactive diagrams.
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology Introduction to Geology is a textbook designed to ease new students into the often complex topics of Geology and the study of our planet and its makeup.
Geography
World Regional Geography: People, Places and Globalization Basic geographic concepts of world places are presented in concise chapters, providing a foundational framework for understanding the development patterns of world regions.
Introduction to World Regional Geography Each major world region is discussed in detail, placing particular emphasis on their physical and environmental environments, along with their cultural and societal structures.
Introduction to Human Geography The text provides a comprehensive introduction to the traditional topics in human geography.
Essentials of Geographic Information Systems This text integrates key concepts behind GIS technology with practical concerns and real-world applications. It is designed to be accessible, pragmatic, and concise.