Radiology

Advances in Cardiac Imaging presents the latest information on heart disease and heart failure, major causes of death among western populations. In addition, the text explores the financial burden to public healthcare trusts and the vast amount of research and funding being channeled into programs not only to prevent such diseases, but also to diagnose them in early stages. This book provides readers with a thorough overview of many advances in cardiac imaging. Chapters include technological developments in cardiac imaging and imaging applications in a clinical setting with regard to detecting various types of heart disease.

This careful revision keeps pace with developments in the field, with new chapters on PET Metabolism, CT and MRI in the Emergency Department, Image-Guided Electrophysiology Mapping and Ablation, and Identification of Vulnerable Atherosclerotic Plaque by Radionuclide and CT techniques, plus the introduction of new contributors Udo Hoffman and Stephan Achenbach. Praised in its previous edition as a concise source of essential information, this new edition presents the most recent information in an accessible format and serves as an excellent reference source for all cardiologists, radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians.

Based on the learning goals of the Society of Thoracic Radiology Curriculum in Cardiac Radiology, Cardiac Imaging presents core knowledge that must be learned to accurately and effectively interpret cardiac imaging studies. This book imparts essential facts about all imaging modalities and the basics of interpretation and technique in a concise and readable format. Part of the Rotations in Radiology series, this book offers a guided approach to imaging diagnosis. Each pathology is covered within a targeted discussion that reviews the definition, clinical features, anatomy and physiology, how to approach the image, what not to miss, differential diagnosis, clinical issues, key points, and key references. The book's manageable size is ideal for Residents' use during training on a specific rotation and for exam review, or as a quick refresher for the established Radiologist.

All the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams -- in print and online! RadCases contains cases selected to simulate everything that you'll see on your rounds, rotations, and exams. RadCases also helps you identify the correct differential diagnosis for each case - including the most critical. Visit RadCases.thieme.com for free sample cases and to experience this dynamic learning tool for yourself! RadCases covers: Cardiac Imaging, Interventional Radiology, Musculoskeletal Radiology, Neuro Imaging, Thoracic Imaging, Pediatric Imaging, Gastrointestinal Imaging, Breast Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Ultrasound Imaging, Head and Neck Imaging, Genitourinary Imaging Each RadCases title features 100 carefully selected, must-know cases documented with clear, high-quality radiographs. The organization provides maximum ease of use for self-assessment. Each case begins with the clinical presentation on the right-hand page; simply turn the page for imaging findings, differential diagnoses, the definitive diagnosis, essential facts, and more. Each RadCases title includes a scratch-off code that allows 12 months of access to a searchable online database of all 100 cases from the book plus an additional 150 cases in that book's specialty - 250 cases in total! Learn your cases, diagnose with confidence and pass your exams. RadCases. Cardiac Imaging will enable you to diagnose the full range of cardiovascular diseases. Features of Cardiac Imaging: Numerous high-resolution color radiographs demonstrating key cardiac cases A variety of common and uncommon presentations covering everything from myocardial infarction to aortic stenosis Examples of cases that must be diagnosed immediately -- to avert potential disaster in daily practice and on exams -- such as ruptured thoracic aortic aneurysm

Obtaining an echocardiogram is a complex procedure with a need for constant enhancement and improvement of skills in the area for both ultrasound technician and physician. Owing to the increasing complexity of the echocardiogram and its interpretation, upon which patient care heavily relies, various professional bodies have been introducing competency exams. This unique book has been designed to assist new trainees as well as more experienced technicians and physicians in preparing for competency exams for certification purposes. It provides easy-to-use revision material in the form of multiple-choice questions with clearly explained answers. Unique approach to echocardiography in a question and answer format; the questions are predominantly case studies Features 400 questions with answers and explanations. The scope of the questions in the book is broad, including areas such as applied ultrasound physics, haemodynamics, valvular problems, ischaemic heart disease, congenital heart diseases, intraoperative or surgical echocardiography, pericardial diseases and cardiac masses. Excellent for test preparation Easy to read and understand Complements standard textbook reading Written by experienced academic echocardiographers involved in teaching echocardiography every day Over 200 still images enhance the learning process

Leave no disease undetected withMRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System, your definitive guide to magnetic resonance and computed tomography for cardiovascular health. Authored by a collaboration of international experts, this vivid, four-color third edition imparts the latest technologies in a rapidly advancing field. With topics that range from anatomy, to MR in infants and children, to risk assessment in ischemic heart disease this text includes seven new chapters to reflect the rising tide of technological discovery as it pertains to cardiology. Thanks to its expert analysis, procedural guide to implementation, and profound understanding of the recent advances in cardiovascular imagining,MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular Systemgives you all the tools necessary for powerful screening, diagnosis, and cardiovascular care. Features: --New chapters reflecting technological discoveries in cardiology --Color illustrations for heightened clarity --Companion website with fully searchable text --Units organized by pathology and disease detection --Fully updated information on application of MR and CT --Up-to-date analysis of emerging multi-detector CT

Nuclear cardiac imaging refers to cardiac radiological diagnostic techniques performed with the aid of radiopharmaceuticals, which are perfused into the myocardium as markers. These imaging studies provide a wide range ofinformation about the heart, including the contractility of the heart, the amount of blood supply to the heart and whether parts of the heart muscle are alive or dead. This is essential information for cardiologists, and nuclearimaging has become an increasingly important part of the cardiologist's armamentarium.Iskandrian's text has become a leading book in the field and the fourth edition will continue the tradition. The text is completely updated to reflect the many advances in the field, and, as a new feature, each chapter concludes with aQandA session on important and difficult clinical issues.

This new atlas represents a fresh fresh approach to cardiac anatomy, providing images of unparalleled quality, along with explanatory text, to show in vivo heart anatomy and explain the clinically relevant underlying anatomic concepts. In spite of amazing proliferation of information on the Internet and multiple websites filled with up-to-date information, there is no similarly detailed and systematic compilation of morphological imaging with CT. Organized for both systematic learning and to serve as a quick, yet detailed reference for specific clinical questions, this book is an invaluable resource for medical students and residents, cardiologists, and especially surgeons, interventionalists and electrophysiologists, who depend on ever more detailed imaging support in order to successfully perform increasingly complex coronary and noncoronary structural interventions and other procedures.

Fundamentals of High Resolution Lung CT presents a simple and concise approach to the HRCT diagnosis of diffuse lung disease. Using a clear, reader-friendly approach, the book presents the fundamental insights and facts necessary to interpret HRCT in any clinical setting. The text and illustrations highlight the most essential rules, reasoning, shortcuts, and differential diagnostic techniques used in daily clinical practice. Readers will find it an excellent guide to improving the HRCT assessment of commonly encountered lung disease. Improve the way you diagnose lung disease! * Nearly 600 high-quality full-color illustrations improve diagnostic accuracy by detailing the radiographic features of common lung diseases as they appear on HRCT. * Straightforward but comprehensive discussions detail HRCT findings and patterns, and their applications to the diagnosis of lung disease. * Disease-specific coverage makes essential facts easy to find and apply. * Availability in e-book and tablet format lets readers access critical content any time, from their handheld reader or tablet device.

Providing pathologists with the extensive array of illustrations necessary to understand the morphologic spectrum of interstitial lung disease (ILD), Atlas of Interstitial Lung Disease Pathology: Pathology with High Resolution CT Correlationsprovides a clear guide to this often confusing and difficult topic. Each chapter touches on the important radiology, clinical, mechanistic, and prognostic features along with numerous illustrations of pathologic findings in a concise, easy-to-follow format. Packed with over 500 images that clarify the morphologic spectrum of interstitial lung diseases and demonstrate the features of the differential diagnoses, this quick reference will help you: Observe and determine if a case shows the diagnostic features of a particular disease. Effectively diagnose ILD through detailed illustrations of the pathology and expert coverage of imaging in every chapter. Broaden your understanding of uncommon variants of relatively common ILDs; for example, fibrosis in chronic eosinophilic pneumonia (CEP) and in BOOP, interstitial spread of Langerhans cell histiocytosis (LCH), and progression of desquamative interstitial pneumonia (DIP) to a picture of fibrotic nonspecific interstitial pneumonia (NSIP). Use imaging material to understand the pathologic changes behind the radiologic appearances of ILDs. Stresses the team approach necessary for the final diagnosis of interstitial lung diseases

Zero in on the most important cardiothoracic imaging knowledge with Chest Radiology: The Essentials! Ideal as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists as well as an efficient learning tool for residents, this best-selling radiology reference puts indispensible information at your fingertips in a compact and practical, high-yield format. Key Features Master nuances of imaging interpretation through a pattern-recognition approach that features extensive chest radiograph/CT correlations. Get up to date on the most current lung cancer staging classification, evidence-based guidelines for evaluating suspected pulmonary embolism (including those for pregnant patients), recently adopted lung cancer screening recommendations with low-dose CT of the chest, Fleischner Society guidelines for the follow-up of subsolid nodules, and new management guidelines for peri-fissural nodules. Successfully absorb key concepts through behaviorally based learning objectives that follow the most current curriculum from the Society of Thoracic Radiology's Education Committee - as well as abundant mnemonics and superb imaging examples. Test your knowledge and prepare for exams with image-rich, case-based multiple-choice questions at the end of each chapter, a self-assessment examination at the end of the text, and additional self-assessment material online. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Tabbing tool to flag important content for future reference Additional self-assessment questions and answers to facilitate exam preparation

All the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams -- in print and online! RadCases contains cases selected to simulate everything that you'll see on your rounds, rotations, and exams. RadCases also helps you identify the correct differential diagnosis for each case - including the most critical. Visit RadCases.thieme.com for free sample cases and to experience this dynamic learning tool for yourself! RadCases covers: Cardiac Imaging, Interventional Radiology, Musculoskeletal Radiology, Neuro Imaging, Thoracic Imaging, Pediatric Imaging, Gastrointestinal Imaging, Breast Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Ultrasound Imaging, Head and Neck Imaging, Genitourinary Imaging Each RadCases title features 100 carefully selected, must-know cases documented with clear, high-quality radiographs. The organization provides maximum ease of use for self-assessment. Each case begins with the clinical presentation on the right-hand page; simply turn the page for imaging findings, differential diagnoses, the definitive diagnosis, essential facts, and more.