Radiology

A-Z of Emergency Radiology is aimed at trainee and practising radiologists, as well as all other healthcare professionals involved in interpreting scans of all imaging modalities in the emergency room setting. It provides a simple, easily accessible guide to the key aspects of the most commonly encountered problems. The simple A-Z format of the book allows the reader to look up the key features of a known condition, or to quickly confirm a suspected diagnosis. For each condition, the presentation, key features on seen imaging, and the diagnostic (and differential diagnostic) aspects are all described, with suggestions made for further useful investigations and subsequent treatment where appropriate. Linked conditions, or those with a similar appearance on imaging, are cross-referenced throughout. Image quality is paramount, and the key features of each image are clearly labeled to help the trainee identify the points of interest.

Rapid acquisition and interpretation of radiographs, portable ultrasound (US) and computed tomography (CT) are now the mainstay of initial successful management of sick and traumatized patients presenting to Accident and Emergency Departments. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is a simple and logical step-by-step guide on how to interpret radiographs, US and CT. It incorporates all the latest technological advances, including replacing plain radiographs with digital radiographs, changes in imaging protocols and the role of portable US and multidetector CT. With over 400 illustrations and annotated radiographs, this thoroughly revised third edition provides more images, new illustrations, and new chapters on emergency US and CT that reflect current practice. Each chapter starts with radiological anatomy, standard and then additional views, a systematic approach to interpretation (ABC approach) and followed by a review of common abnormalities. The ABC of Emergency Radiology is an invaluable resource for accident and emergency staff, trainee radiologists, medical students, nurses, radiographers and all medical personnel involved in the immediate care of trauma patients. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.

Imaging represents the most dynamic sub-discipline of emergency medicine, as recent technological advances have revealed. The use of ultrasound, MRI, and CT scans has revolutionized the way that acute injuries and conditions are managed in the emergency room. More sophisticated imaging modalities are commonplace now, enabling acute conditions such as cardiac arrest, aortic aneurysm, and fetal trauma to be diagnosed within seconds. This book is a new clinical resource in the field of emergency radiology and covers both the technical applications and interpretation of all imaging studies utilized in the emergency room, including x-rays, MRI, CT, and contrast angiography. The full spectrum of conditions diagnosed within each modality is covered in detail, and examples of normal radiologic anatomy, patterns, and anomalies are also included. With over 2,000 images to comprehensively cover every aspect of radiology in the emergency room, it is a standard reference for emergency physicians.

Part of the popular Teaching Files series, Emergency and Trauma Radiology: A Teaching File is an exceptional resource for radiology trainees and practicing radiologists who are interested in reviewing the basics of this diverse and challenging field. 300 cases, both in print and online, are portrayed through high-quality images similar to those you see in daily practice. Each emergency or trauma case includes images, along with descriptions of clinical history, findings, differential diagnosis, a discussion of diagnosis, relevant questions with appropriate answers, reporting requirements, and key information to relay to the treating physician. It's an ideal review tool both for practicing clinicians as well as those studying for board and certification exams.Key Features More than 300 cases (100 in print and an additional 200 in the interactive eBook) help you make accurate and informed diagnoses and study for exams. Actual cases have been taken from extensive teaching files in major medical centers. Each case is presented as an unknown, and in random order, for a close approximation to daily decision-making. Cases follow the same consistent format: a brief clinical history, several images, relevant findings, differential diagnosis, and final diagnosis, followed by a discussion of the case. Realistic case discussions mimic those between residents and faculty members in all radiology departments. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

A practical guide to the radiology of trauma and emergency medicine A practical introductory reference on the clinical radiology of trauma and acute diseases, Emergency Radiology: A Practical Guide helps readers acquire the image interpretation skills necessary to care for patients with emergent conditions. The book is organized by anatomic region, and each of the eight sections has an introduction that includes an analytical approach and checklist, anatomy, imaging techniques, and important differential diagnoses. Key Features: More than 500 high-quality images Concise discussions of more than 230 important traumatic and emergent conditions A format optimized for self-study and review, with illustrations and explanatory text on facing pages Each section includes an approach, checklist, essential anatomy, study indications, imaging protocols, and differential diagnoses Tailored to the needs of senior medical students, radiology and emergency medicine residents, and clinicians who care for emergency patients, this book is an indispensable practical reference.

Emergency Radiology presents a comprehensive review of emergency pathologies commonly encountered by practicing radiologists and residents in training. The first five sections are organized by organ system and include Head, Neck, Face, and Spine, Chest, Abdominal, Pelvic, and Bone emergencies,followed by chapters on Pediatric and Nuclear Medicine emergencies and special topics in emergency imaging. Part of the Rotations in Radiology series, this book offers a guided approach to imaging diagnosis with examples of all imaging modalities complimented by the basics of interpretation andtechnique and the nuances necessary to arrive at the best diagnosis. Each pathology is covered with a targeted discussion that reviews the definition, clinical features, anatomy and physiology, imaging techniques, differential diagnosis, clinical issues, key points, and further reading. Thisorganization is ideal for trainees' use during specific rotations and for exam review, or as a quick refresher for the established emergency imager.

In over 150 cases featuring 600, high-quality images, Emergency Radiology Cases provides a succinct review of problems encountered by Radiologists when on call for the emergency room. Cases are divided into Trauma, Non-Trauma, and Pediatric sections, and categorized by parts of the bodyincluding: Brain, Spine, Upper and Lower Extremities, Chest, and Abdomen. Part of the Cases in Radiology series, this book follows the easy-to-use format of question and answer in which the patient history is provided on the first page of the case, and radiologic findings, differential diagnosis,teaching points, next steps in management, and suggestions for furthering reading are revealed on the following page. This casebook is an essential resource for Radiology Residents and practicing Radiologists alike.

Rapid recognition of life-threatening illnesses and injuries expedites appropriate management and improves clinical outcomes. False-positive interpretations in radiology have been identified as a significant cause of error, leading to unnecessary investigation and treatment, increased healthcare costs, and delays in appropriate management. Moreover, it is important that radiologists do not miss important subtle diagnoses that need urgent intervention. Pearls and Pitfalls in Emergency Radiology provides an outline of common imaging artefacts, anatomic variants and critical diagnoses that the radiologist must master in order to guide appropriate care and avoid malpractice lawsuits. One hundred selected cases - illustrated with several hundred images from MRI, MDCT, PET, ultrasound and radiographs - are presented in a succinct and structured format, highlighting key pearls and potential diagnostic pitfalls. The text focuses on emergent presentations of diseases in all body regions in both adults and children.

All the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams -- in print and online! Emergency Radiology presents the challenging cases that are most likely to be encountered by physicians and radiologists in the emergency room. It helps ER physicians correctly interpret images and thus quickly make initial diagnoses on both common and less common disorders. This book can also be used as an effective review guide for those studying for the radiology board exams. Key Features: Examples of critical cases that must be accurately diagnosed to avert potential disaster in daily practice and on exams Clearly labeled, high-quality images help you absorb key findings at-a-glance A scratch-off code in each book that provides a year of free access to a searchable online database of 250 must-know cases, the 100 cases in the book, plus an additional 150 cases available only online