Radiology

Packed with useful information on common procedures in interventional radiology, this popular handbook has been thoroughly updated to keep you up to speed with rapid changes in the field. Easy to carry and access, it covers everything you need to know: indications, contraindications, preparation, technique, post-procedure management, and prevention and management of complications. It's ideal not only for practicing interventional and general radiologists, but also for fellows and residents in training, IR nurses, and special procedure technologists.Key Features Explains how to perform all current interventional radiologic procedures, with a practical focus on protocols and equipment. Includes new content on risk management, nursing management, and drugs and dosages. Features simple line drawings that illustrate relevant anatomy and procedures. Provides must-know information on vascular access and catheter-directed angiography, trans-arterial procedures, trans-venous procedures, non-vascular procedures, and intra-procedural patient management. 38 additional chapters, available online, cover noninvasive evaluation and diagnostic imaging, special interventions, materials and methods, risk management, and nursing management.

In 104 cases featuring over 500, high-quality images, Interventional Radiology Cases is a thorough and accessible review of the interventional procedures that radiology residents are expected to be familiar with upon completion of residency and general radiologists need to know forrecertification examinations. The cases present both benign and malignant conditions and all pertinent imaging modalities incorporated including: CT, MR, PET, fluoroscopy, and ultrasound.Part of the Cases in Radiology series, this book follows the easy-to-use format of question and answer in which the patient history is provided on the first page of the case, and radiologic findings, differential diagnosis, teaching points, next steps in management, and suggestions for furtheringreading are revealed on the following page.

Expert guidance on managing interventional radiology in trauma Interventional Radiology in Trauma Management brings together the insights and expertise of Dr. Tisnado, an interventional radiologist, and Dr. Ivatury, a trauma surgeon, to guide surgeons on how to effectively integrate both specialties into their management of trauma patients. This reference book provides comprehensive coverage of the increasingly important role of interventional radiology in the care of trauma patients and will be an essential text for interventional radiologists and surgeons specializing in trauma and critical care

Excel at clinical IR with insightful perspectives from both current residents and senior interventionalists! Interventional radiology training has evolved rapidly during the last decade, with recent recognition as a primary medical specialty by the American Board of Medical Specialties. The number of IR residency positions continues to increase each year with a greater number of trainees rotating through the IR elective. The bar is set high and expectations of trainees have increased. This book will help trainees to intelligently field IR consults, effectively round on patients, and develop an understanding of IR disease processes. Concise yet thorough, it provides a solid clinical foundation to underlying pathologies and procedures, and embodies the authors' philosophy that the IR education paradigm should be transformed into one in which the clinical care of patients is of equal importance to technical procedural training.

The definitive work on the diagnosis and treatment of portal hypertension Previously published by the Society for Interventional Radiology (SIR), this fully revised and updated third edition of Portal Hypertension: Imaging, Diagnosis, and Endovascular Management is the first volume in collaboration between Thieme and the SIR. Edited by Wael Saad and written by internationally recognized experts, this authoritative volume is a comprehensive guide to the diagnosis and interventional management of portal hypertension. A potentially serious condition, portal hypertension presents considerable clinical challenges due to the delicate nature of the impacted organs, veins, and vessels. From pathophysiology to the latest state-of-the-art approaches, five major sections encompass diagnostic, medical, endoscopic, non-vascular, surgical, percutaneous, endovascular, and balloon-occluded methodologies, including indications, complications, and clinical trial results.

A practical guide on the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of varicose veins Chronic venous disease is a common condition, with a prevalence as high as 50% in industrialized countries worldwide. Of those, about 20-25% of women and 10-15% of men have visible varicose veins. Varicose vein treatment has become an increasingly multidisciplinary field, and one that has seen cutting-edge advances and significant growth. Felipe B. Collares, Salomao Faintuch, and a team of venous disease experts have compiled, Varicose Veins, a concise book that covers the full range of interventional procedures for venous insufficiency. Following introductory chapters on anatomy and pathophysiology, the authors guide readers through the clinical exam, imaging, compression therapy, and various minimally invasive techniques. Highly practical and an affordable alternative to larger published tomes.