Radiology

Covering both physical as well as mathematical and algorithmic foundations, this graduate textbook provides the reader with an introduction into modern biomedical imaging and image processing and reconstruction. These techniques are not only based on advanced instrumentation for image acquisition, but equally on new developments in image processing and reconstruction to extract relevant information from recorded data. To this end, the present book offers a quantitative treatise of radiography, computed tomography, and medical physics. Contents Introduction Digital image processing Essentials of medical x-ray physics Tomography Radiobiology, radiotherapy, and radiation protection Phase contrast radiography Object reconstruction under nonideal conditions

This publication is written for students and teachers involved in programmes that train medical physicists for work in diagnostic radiology. It provides, in the form of a syllabus, a comprehensive overview of the basic medical physics knowledge required for the practice of modern diagnostic radiology. This makes it particularly useful for graduate students and residents in medical physics programmes. The material presented in the publication has been endorsed by the major international organizations and is the foundation for academic and clinical courses in diagnostic radiology physics and in emerging areas such as imaging in radiotherapy.

An up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications. The new edition also takes a radical strategy in organization of the content, offering the fundamentals common to most imaging methods in Part I of the book, and application of those fundamentals in specific imaging modalities in Part II. These fundamentals also include notable updates and new content including radiobiology, anatomy and physiology relevant to medical imaging, imaging science, image processing, image display, and information technologies.

Now revised to reflect the new, clinically-focused certification exams, Review of Radiological Physics, Fourth Edition , offers a complete review for radiology residents and radiologic technologists preparing for certification. . This new edition covers x-ray production and interactions, projection and tomographic imaging, image quality, radiobiology, radiation protection, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and magnetic resonance - all of the important physics information you need to understand the factors that improve or degrade image quality. Each chapter is followed by 20 questions for immediate self-assessment, and two end-of-book practice exams, each with 100 additional questions, offer a comprehensive review of the full range of topics.

This publication provides the basis for the education of medical physicists initiating their university studies in the field of nuclear medicine. The handbook includes 20 chapters and covers topics relevant to nuclear medicine physics, including basic physics for nuclear medicine, radionuclide production, imaging and non-imaging detectors, quantitative nuclear medicine, internal dosimetry in clinical practice and radionuclide therapy. It provides, in the form of a syllabus, a comprehensive overview of the basic medical physics knowledge required for the practice of medical physics in modern nuclear medicine.